The City of New Bern is governed by a mayor and a Board of Aldermen. The Board of Aldermen consists of six elected officials elected from voters by Ward. They are elected for a four-year term and meet regularly on the second and fourth Tuesday of each month. The present Mayor is Lee W. Bettis, Jr. The mayor is elected at-large every four years by all voters of the City. The Mayor presides at all Board of Aldermen Meetings. The City Manager reports directly to the Board of Aldermen, acts as the administrator to carry out City policies, and is responsible for running the day-to-day business of the City.

City of New Bern

Craven County

Craven County Board of Commissioners consists of seven members. Currently, all Commissioners are elected by district. Regular meetings are held on the first and third Monday of each month.

Craven County Government

Craven County Business

Town of Oriental

The Mayor and Town Commissioners are elected for two-year terms.

Town of Oriental

Pamlico County

Pamlico County operates under a Commission - Manager form of local government. Citizens elect a Board of Commissioners who serves at the community leaders and policy makers of the County. The Commissioners appoint a County Manager to carry out policy and ensure that all residents are being equally served.

The County Manager coordinates the work of the department heads and other employees, who help ensure the smooth and efficient delivery of services. He is also responsible for preparing the budget, directing day-to-day operations, staffing personnel, and serving as the Commissioner's chief policy advisor.

Pamlico County Government